Design for BOP

13Apr06

This is a project that I intend to keep an eye on – design for the base of the pyramind – coordinated by the Institute of Design, Illinois. For one, I find their research methods as interesting (and dare I say it?, maybe more interesting) than the findings – remote research, observation, ethnography, photo journals…

The site has details of the project and also some solution concepts – would be good to see how these field insights are actually taken forward and converted into design ideas and then practical marketing concepts…

Just one thought that keeps niggling – I know that bottom of the pyramid is all the buzzword and companies are showing keenness to be a part of this huge untapped potential market. But I wonder about how many companies have already or are ready to put their money where their belief is… traditional markets (I mean by this both countries and segments within emerging markets) still seem to be the safe bets…

Will wait and watch…

***

technorati tags: , ,

