Design questions for a website

22Nov05

Joseph Carrabis on imediaconnection offers some insights on website design. Right in the beginning of his piece is the key question that needs to be asked – “When you look at an ad, can you tell after a few seconds exactly what the company does?

Ditto for company websites.

Increasingly, websites are acting as calling cards for companies. It is the first point of contact with most stakeholders, from potential employees to potential customers.
Speaking as an end user (which I am) and not a designer (which I am not), I can say how true that has been for me – I have seen websites which say nothing of the kind of work a company does or products it sells. In that case, they have lost my attention (unless I prod through the site) after having gained it (seeing I was interested enough to check out their website). The entire article here.

